THE NIGHTMARE

She evades me mockingly,

My verses lack rhyme with incomplete lines.

A misty fog is settling around me.

Headlights advance aimlessly.

The trees are afraid.

Weather sings operatic,

Reaching a fevered crescent,

And then,

Silence.

 

She builds herself into a storm wall,

And breaks on me,

Shattering me to pieces.

Before I know,

I am travelling within the eyewall,

To rain,

On an unidentifiable distance.

The spinning earth invites me,

Misfortune sings,

Surreptitiously.

 

I fall.

Wide Awake.

Add your Pericope

