EARTH’S EVENSONG

 

The percussion,

Dances rocking in my heart,

Arrhythmic.

I feel death swimming inside me.

Look at how you are weighing my eyes down.

Look at the blue in my veins turning to brown.

Look at my skin crumbling to sand.

 

And while you stand and stare,

I’ll sing you a love song,

So that when you wake up and I am gone,

Just maybe, you will remember,

My hair flowed green,

And a cool breeze stole in to kiss you,

During those long, summer evenings.

Tomorrow,

Won’t come.

Departed, like your ancestors to heaven’s evensong,

I’ll whisper endless prayers to save you.

Add your Pericope

